- Home
- State medical councils
- Nagaland Medical Council registration | Vitels
State medical councils
Nagaland Medical Council registration | Vitels Forms, fees, five-yearly renewal, CME credit and contacts, from the council's own site and the 2014 Act.
Nagaland Medical Council registration is done on paper: you download the form from nmc.nagaland.gov.in, attach the listed certificates and pay ₹4,000 by cash or bank draft for direct registration. Under the council's 2014 rules a registration certificate is valid for five years, and the renewal form asks for 30 CME credit points.
Published · Last reviewed · 5 min read
- Section 16(6) of the Nagaland Medical Council Act, 2014 says anyone "servicing or practicing modern scientific system of medicine in Nagaland shall be registered with the Council".
- Rule 3 of the Nagaland Medical Council Rules, 2014 makes the registration certificate "valid for a period of five years from the date of registration".
- The council's direct registration, renewal and additional qualification forms each state a fee of ₹4,000 (forms read 31 Oct 2026).
To register with the Nagaland Medical Council, fill Form 1 (Application Form for Direct Registration) from the Downloads page of nmc.nagaland.gov.in, attach the certificates it lists, and pay ₹4,000 by cash or bank draft in favour of Nagaland Medical Council. The council was set up under the Nagaland Medical Council Act, 2014, which its History page says was published in the Nagaland Gazette dated 30 April 2014, Part V. Section 16(6) of the Act says: "Any person servicing or practicing modern scientific system of medicine in Nagaland shall be registered with the Council under this Act."
Which registrations does the Nagaland Medical Council offer?
The Downloads page carries a form for each service below. Fees are the amounts printed on each form, read on 31 Oct 2026; the council has no separate fee page that we found.
| Registration | Fee on the form | Mode |
|---|---|---|
| Direct (permanent) registration, Form 1 | ₹4,000 | Paper form, cash or bank draft |
| Provisional registration, Form 8 | ₹1,000 in the form text, ₹2,000 in its notes | Paper form, submitted at the council office |
| Temporary registration, Form 16 | ₹2,000 | Paper form, cash or bank draft |
| Additional qualification, Form 6 | ₹4,000 | Paper form, cash or bank draft |
| Renewal of registration, Form 15 | ₹4,000 | Paper form, cash or bank draft |
| NOC for migration to another council | Not stated on the site | Application to the Registrar (Rule 41) |
| Certificate of good standing | Not stated on the site | Application to the Registrar (Rule 42) |
The provisional registration form gives two different amounts, so ask the office which one applies before you make the draft. Rule 41 of the council's 2014 Rules says a "No Objection" certificate for migration is issued after the council approves the request. Rule 42 says a good standing certificate is issued "provided that no enquiry is pending against the applicant" and is "valid for a period of six months from the date of issue".
What documents do I need for direct registration in Nagaland?
Form 1 lists these for a fresh registration, with originals shown for verification:
- Birth certificate, matriculation certificate or SSC exam certificate showing date of birth
- MBBS degree, or post-graduate degree, diploma or post-doctoral degree
- Original internship completion certificate
- Other evidence of the qualification you hold
- Three recent passport-size photographs with name and signature on the back
- Residential proof certificate
- Aadhaar card and PAN card
- Cash or bank draft of ₹4,000 in favour of Nagaland Medical Council
If you are already registered with the NMC or another state council, the form also asks for that registration certificate and a No Objection Certificate from the state medical council where you were registered earlier. The form carries an undertaking that you have not applied for permanent registration with any other state council, and a sheet of details for the National Medical Commission, including your hospital or clinic and its address.
Can I apply online, or must I visit Kohima?
The forms are paper forms. They are downloaded from the site, paid for by cash or bank draft, and addressed to the Registrar, Nagaland Medical Council, Kohima. The provisional registration form says the application is "to be submitted at the office of Nagaland Medical Council". We did not find an online application on the council's site. The Contact page gives office hours as Monday to Saturday, 10:00 am to 4:00 pm, closed on second Saturdays and government holidays.
- Download the form for your registration type from the Downloads page.
- Attach attested copies of the listed certificates and carry the originals for verification.
- Make the cash payment or bank draft for the fee printed on the form.
- Submit the form at the council office in Kohima and keep the receipt number.
How often must I renew, and is CME needed?
Every five years. Rule 3 of the Nagaland Medical Council Rules, 2014 says the registration certificate "shall be valid for a period of five years from the date of registration", and section 23 of the Act has the Registrar call on practitioners to apply for continuance of their names "every five years". A name not renewed after the final notice can be removed, and section 23(4) allows it to be re-entered on payment of a fee if you apply within six months.
The renewal form (Form 15) states: "IT IS MANDATORY TO ACHIEVE 30 CREDIT POINTS FOR RENEWAL OF REGISTRATION AS PER MEDICAL COUNCIL OF INDIA CODE OF ETHICS." It also carries an undertaking to "acquire the deficit CME Credit Hours required for renewal of Registration within the next two years" from the date of renewal. A July 2026 item titled "Notification Regarding Re-registration" on the council's news list opens a Nagaland Nursing Council notice about nurses' CNE credits; it does not set rules for doctors. Our renewal and CME guide compares councils.
How can a clinic or patient verify a Nagaland doctor's registration?
The council's home page links to apps.nagaland.gov.in, titled "Nagaland Medical Council | Official Registry", which invites visitors to "Search the official database to verify registered medical practitioners in Nagaland" by doctor's name. The NMC's Indian Medical Register page can also be searched by name, registration number, year of registration or state medical council. See our note on the National Medical Register.
How do I contact the Nagaland Medical Council?
The council's Contact page gives: NIAH Complex, Merhülietsa Colony, Kohima 797001, Nagaland. Telephone 0370-2242454 or +91 7005447272, email nagamedcouncil@gmail.com. The NMC's state council directory lists the address as PMTI Complex, Merhulietsa Colony, Kohima, with the same office number, so call before you travel.
Where must the registration number appear in my clinic?
Section 16(7) of the Nagaland Act asks every registered practitioner to display the certificate of registration "in a conspicuous part in the place of his practice". Clause 1.4.1 of the Indian Medical Council (Professional Conduct, Etiquette and Ethics) Regulations, 2002 adds: "Every physician shall display the registration number accorded to him by the State Medical Council / Medical Council of India in his clinic and in all his prescriptions, certificates, money receipts given to his patients." Clause 1.4.2 limits suffixes after your name to "recognized medical degrees or such certificates/diplomas and memberships/honours which confer professional knowledge". Put the number on your letterhead once; our free clinic letterhead maker lays it out.
Vitels verifies a doctor's registration at sign-up and prints prescriptions on the clinic's own letterhead, with the registration number, on A4 or A5. See e-prescription software.
Questions
What is the Nagaland Medical Council registration fee?
Form 1 for direct registration states ₹4,000, paid by cash or bank draft in favour of Nagaland Medical Council (read 31 Oct 2026).
How often is registration renewed in Nagaland?
Every five years. Rule 3 of the Nagaland Medical Council Rules, 2014 makes the certificate valid for five years, and the renewal form states a fee of ₹4,000.
How many CME credits does Nagaland need for renewal?
The council's renewal form says it is mandatory to achieve 30 credit points for renewal, with an undertaking to make up any deficit within two years of renewal.
How long is a Nagaland good standing certificate valid?
Six months from the date of issue, under Rule 42 of the council's 2014 Rules, and only if no enquiry is pending against you.
Sources
- Nagaland Medical Council, home page (accessed Invalid Date)
- Nagaland Medical Council, History and function (accessed Invalid Date)
- Nagaland Medical Council, Downloads: Forms & Documents (accessed Invalid Date)
- Nagaland Medical Council, Form 1: Application form for direct registration (PDF) (accessed Invalid Date)
- Nagaland Medical Council, Form 15: Application form for renewal of registration (PDF) (accessed Invalid Date)
- Nagaland Medical Council, Form 6: Registration of additional qualification (PDF) (accessed Invalid Date)
- Nagaland Medical Council, Form 8: Application for provisional registration (PDF) (accessed Invalid Date)
- Nagaland Medical Council, Form 16: Application for temporary registration (PDF) (accessed Invalid Date)
- The Nagaland Medical Council Act, 2014, Nagaland Gazette, 30 April 2014, Part V (PDF on the council site) (accessed Invalid Date)
- The Nagaland Medical Council Rules, 2014 (PDF on the council site) (accessed Invalid Date)
- Nagaland Medical Council, Notification Regarding Re-registration (Nagaland Nursing Council notice No. NNC(C)/GEN-CNE/2025-2026/105, 7 July 2026) (accessed Invalid Date)
- Nagaland Medical Council, Official Registry (Doctors Registry search) (accessed Invalid Date)
- Nagaland Medical Council, Contact us (accessed Invalid Date)
- National Medical Commission, State Medical Councils directory (accessed Invalid Date)
- National Medical Commission, Indian Medical Register search (accessed Invalid Date)
- Indian Medical Council (Professional Conduct, Etiquette and Ethics) Regulations, 2002, amended up to 8 October 2016, clauses 1.4.1 and 1.4.2 (NMC) (accessed Invalid Date)
This is operational guidance for clinics, not legal or tax advice. Confirm with your state authority, council or CA.
Drafted with AI assistance; every fact checked against the sources listed; reviewed by the Vitels editorial team.