Skip to content
  1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. Good standing certificate for doctors in India

Compliance

Good standing certificate for doctors in India What it certifies, who issues it, what it costs and how to apply.

A certificate of good standing is a council's written statement that you hold current registration and that no disciplinary proceedings have been taken or are pending against you. Doctors usually need one when a council or authority abroad asks for it. In India it can come from the National Medical Commission, with your state council's recommendation, or from your state council directly.

Vitels TeamEditorial team, Vitels

Published · Last reviewed · 6 min read

In short
  • The NMC form has the state council certify that the doctor "holds current registration with this council and no disciplinary proceedings had been taken or were in progress". The NMC says its certificate is valid for six months from issue.
  • The NMC fee on its form is ₹2,360 including GST if the certificate is emailed to you, or ₹8,900 including GST if it goes to a foreign council or authority. It is sent digitally signed by email.
  • State councils issue their own: Karnataka lists ₹2,500 plus 18% GST with no appointment needed (rates from 3 Nov 2025); Telangana's fee table lists ₹8,000 for good standing or CT verification for other countries.

A certificate of good standing (often written CGS) confirms two things about a registered doctor: that the registration is current, and that no disciplinary proceedings have been taken or are in progress against the doctor before that council on the date of the certificate. That is the wording of the state council's recommendation on the National Medical Commission's application form. The NMC issues one, and state medical councils issue their own. The forms we read are built around one use: proof to a foreign council, country or authority that your Indian registration is clean.

What does a good standing certificate certify?

Current registration and a clean disciplinary record with the council. The NMC form's recommendation, signed by the state council's registrar, reads: "Certified that the particulars given above are correct to the best of my knowledge and according to the record available with me" and "Certified that Doctor ... holds current registration with this Council and no disciplinary proceedings had been taken or were in progress against him/her on this date by this Council." Punjab's form carries the same two statements.

It says nothing about your clinical skill, and it is not a registration in itself. It is also different from two other documents doctors ask councils for:

Good standing certificate, NOC and certified testimonials, as listed by state councils
DocumentWhat it is forExample from a council
Certificate of good standingProof to another body, usually abroad, that registration is current and no disciplinary proceedings are pendingKarnataka: ₹2,500 + 18% GST, online payment, no appointment
No objection certificate (NOC)Moving your registration to another state councilKarnataka's November 2025 form asked for a recent NOC for re-registration; its later notice says doctors from other states "need not bring NOC" and register on self certification
Certified testimonials (CT)A foreign body's own form that the council fills and certifiesKarnataka: needs the "C.T. Form from any foreign country", ₹2,500 + 18% GST, appointment and courier at your cost

Who issues it: the NMC or my state council?

Both do, and the body asking for it decides which one it wants. The NMC's homepage lists "Good Standing Certificates" among the services in its Doctor Login, next to additional qualification registration and IMR certificates. State councils list their own: Karnataka's application form and Punjab's both have a good standing option, and Telangana's fee table has a line for it. Read the requesting body's instructions before you apply; if it names the National Medical Commission, a state council certificate may not be accepted, and the reverse can also happen.

How do I apply to the NMC?

Through your state council's registrar, or online if you were registered with the erstwhile Medical Council of India. The NMC form's instructions say the application "is to be forwarded to this office through the Registrar of the State Medical Council with whom the person concerned is registered". If you are registered with more than one council, give every registration number and date, but forward the application through one of them. For doctors registered with the erstwhile MCI, "an option to apply online is available" after creating an account in the Doctor's Login.

  1. Check your entry in the Indian Medical Register on the NMC website. The form tells you to do this first, and to have any discrepancy "rectified through SMC in IMR records" before applying.
  2. Fill the form: your name exactly as in the Indian Medical Register, qualifications with university, college and year, every state council registration, and the places you have worked in the last five years with addresses and periods.
  3. If the certificate is to go abroad, give the email and postal address of the receiving authority.
  4. Enclose an attested copy of your permanent registration certificate and of your MBBS degree.
  5. Pay the fee: the form lists ₹2,000 plus 18% GST by demand draft to "The Secretary, National Medical Commission, New Delhi", or online with the receipt enclosed.
  6. Get the state council's recommendation signed by its registrar, and send the set through that council.

The form says "the digitally signed certificates would be sent by e-mail". Its fee note gives two amounts: ₹2,360 including GST if the certificate goes to your personal email, and ₹8,900 including GST if it is sent to a foreign council, country or authority. The form is undated, so confirm the current fee in the Doctor Login before paying.

What do state councils charge and ask for?

It varies, so read your own council's form. The three we read on 31 October 2026:

Good standing certificate at three state medical councils (read 31 Oct 2026)
CouncilFeeWhat the council's document says
Karnataka Medical Council₹2,500 + 18% GST"Online payment ... Appointment is not required." Rates revised with effect from 3 Nov 2025.
Telangana State Medical Council₹8,000Fee table line: "Good Standing/ CT Verification for Other Countries". Table effective 15 Feb 2024.
Punjab Medical CouncilNot stated on the formAsks the purpose and country, places worked in the last five years, two original character testimonials from "persons of standing", and two Punjab-registered doctors who know you as referees.

Punjab's form still refers to the Medical Council of India, so it predates the NMC; check with the council whether a newer version is in use. Telangana's table is from February 2024. Neither council's document we read gives a processing time, and we have not stated one.

How long is a good standing certificate valid?

The NMC form says: "The certificate of good standing issued by the National Medical Commission will be valid upto six months from the date of issue." The receiving body may set its own shorter window, so time the application to that body's deadline rather than applying months in advance. The state council documents we read do not state a validity period.

What should I sort out before applying?

Three things cause most delays, and each is in your hands:

  • A lapsed state registration. The certificate states that registration is current, so renew first if it is due; our post on registration renewal and CME credits covers the state rules.
  • A name mismatch. The NMC form asks for your name as in the Indian Medical Register and your parent's or spouse's name as in the State Medical Register. Fix differences through your council first.
  • An incomplete work history. Both the NMC and Punjab forms ask for every place worked in the last five years. Keep appointment letters, or your clinic's registration, ready to fill this in accurately.

Your council's contact details are on our state medical councils page.

Questions

Can I get the certificate sent straight to a foreign council?

Yes. The NMC form has a field for the receiving authority's email and address, and its fee note gives ₹8,900 including GST where the certificate is sent to a foreign council, country or authority.

I am registered in two states. Where do I apply?

For the NMC certificate, list every registration on the form and forward it through the registrar of one of the councils, as the form's instructions say.

Sources

  1. National Medical Commission, homepage, Doctor Login services list (accessed Invalid Date)
  2. National Medical Commission, Application form for obtaining a Certificate of Good Standing, with Appendix-I instructions (undated) (accessed Invalid Date)
  3. Karnataka Medical Council, Form of application (NOC, good standing, certified testimonials and others), revised rates with effect from 03-11-2025 (accessed Invalid Date)
  4. Karnataka Medical Council, Important information about requirement for other states NOC / self certification (council meeting of 27.06.2026) (accessed Invalid Date)
  5. Telangana State Medical Council, revised fee structure, letter dated 09.02.2024, effective 15.02.2024 (accessed Invalid Date)
  6. Punjab Medical Council, Application form for obtaining a certificate of Good Standing (accessed Invalid Date)

This is operational guidance for clinics, not legal or tax advice. Confirm with your state authority, council or CA.

Drafted with AI assistance; every fact checked against the sources listed; reviewed by the Vitels editorial team.

  1. 1 You
  2. 2 Your clinic

Who should we call?

Your name and the number we can reach you on.

One more step, all of it optional.