Compliance
Medical council registration renewal and CME credits How often, how many credit hours, and what happens if you miss it.
Most doctors get their state registration once and file the certificate. Then a council notice arrives asking for renewal and CME certificates. We read the national rules and the councils' own documents to see what renewal actually asks of you.
Published · Last reviewed · 11 min read
- The NMC's Registration and Licence to Practice Regulations, 2023 make a licence valid for five years and mark your entry inactive if no renewal application arrives within three months of expiry. Your state council runs the renewal under its own Act.
- The CME rule in force nationally is regulation 1.2.3 of the 2002 regulations: at least 30 hours every five years. The 2023 conduct regulations with their CPD credit scheme have been in abeyance since 23 August 2023.
- Councils set their own numbers. Karnataka and West Bengal ask for 30 credit hours in five years, Telangana is phasing up to 30, Punjab's Act says 50, and Gujarat's CME page says 150 credit points. Check your own council.
Short answer: yes, in most states medical council registration renewal is a five-year cycle, and most councils now tie it to CME credit hours. The national baseline is 30 hours of CME every five years under the 2002 conduct regulations. The exact number, the grace period and the late fee come from your state council, and they differ. Karnataka, Telangana and West Bengal ask for 30. Punjab's Act says 50. If you have never renewed, check your certificate for a renewal or validity date today.
This post goes into the rules behind renewal. The list of all State Medical Councils, first registration and the basics of the National Medical Register are on our State Medical Councils guide.
What the NMC Act and NMC regulations say about renewal
The National Medical Commission Act, 2019 sets up two registers. Section 31(1) asks the Ethics and Medical Registration Board (EMRB) to keep a National Register of licensed medical practitioners. Section 31(6) asks every State Medical Council to keep its State Register up to date in electronic form, and section 31(7) says the two registers are synchronised so that "any change in one register is automatically reflected in the other register." Section 31(3) leaves the grounds for removing a name to regulations. The Act itself sets no renewal interval.
Section 34 is the part that bites. Only a person enrolled in the State Register or the National Register may practise medicine as a qualified medical practitioner or sign a medical or fitness certificate that a law requires a qualified doctor to sign. Section 34(2) sets the punishment at imprisonment up to one year, a fine up to ₹5 lakh, or both.
The renewal interval appears in the Registration of Medical Practitioners and Licence to Practice Medicine Regulations, 2023, notified by the NMC on 10 May 2023 and in force from publication. Regulation 8(i) says the licence "shall be valid for a period of Five years", after which the doctor renews by applying to the State Medical Council. Regulation 8(ii) says the application "may be made before three month of expiration of the validity of licence." Regulation 8(iii) is the warning. If no application is received within three months of expiry, your entry in the State Register becomes "inactive", you are not entitled to practise, and the inactive status shows on the National Register too.
The same regulations also say, in regulation 4, that until they "and appropriate sections are in force, licence topractice and prevailing system of Registration shall continue." In practice the renewal you file today is your state council's renewal, under your state's medical registration Act, on your council's form. If a council rejects a renewal, regulation 12 allows an appeal to the EMRB within 30 days of the decision.
The CME rule: 30 hours every five years
The CME requirement in force at national level is regulation 1.2.3 of the Indian Medical Council (Professional Conduct, Etiquette and Ethics) Regulations, 2002, amended up to 8 October 2016. It reads:
A Physician should participate in professional meetings as part of Continuing Medical Education programmes, for at least 30 hours every five years, organized by reputed professional academic bodies or any other authorized organisations. The compliance of this requirement shall be informed regularly to Medical Council of India or the State Medical Councils as the case may be.
The 2002 text does not itself link CME to renewal. It sets the 30-hour minimum and leaves reporting to the councils. Each council makes the link to renewal in its own rules, so the numbers in the table below differ.
The 2023 CPD clause is in abeyance
The NMC's Registered Medical Practitioner (Professional Conduct) Regulations, 2023, notified on 2 August 2023, went further. Regulation 4 asked every doctor to attend continuing professional development programmes "regularly each year, totaling at least 30 credit hours every five years", said only colleges, institutions or societies accredited by the EMRB or a State Medical Council could award credit hours, and said renewal "should be done every 5 years" after submitting CPD documentation. Its CPD guideline expected 6 points a year with a floor of 3, and a minimum of 30 at the end of five years.
On 23 August 2023 the NMC held those regulations "in abeyance with immediate effect", said they "shall not be operative and effective till further Gazette Notification", and re-adopted the 2002 regulations. The NMC's e-gazette listing, checked on 26 October 2026, shows no later notification on professional conduct. Some councils still cite the NMC when setting their own CPD rules. Telangana's November 2023 renewal notification, for example, begins "as per National Medical Commission guidelines". Whatever the source, the binding number for your renewal is the one your council has notified.
Renewal interval and CME by state council
We fetched each council's own website on 26 October 2026. Where the site did not load or showed no renewal terms, the row says so. Where a state Act was the only primary text we could read, the row names the Act. Numbers are as the council or Act states them; we have not converted points to hours.
| Council | Renewal interval | CME for renewal | Late or missed renewal | Source we read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Karnataka | Once in every 5 years; compulsory after 65 too | 30 credit hours in 5 years, maximum 6 a year, until age 65. Only 1 online credit hour of the 6 a year counts | Not stated on the CME page | KMC CME page |
| Telangana | 5 years from original registration, with a 1-year grace period | 30 points on the form. Phase-in: 18 hours for applications from 1 Jan 2026, 24 from 1 Jan 2027, 30 from 1 Jan 2028. Needed above 65 as well | After the grace year, ₹500 a year delay fee, up to ₹2,000 | TSMC renewal form, notification of 29.11.2023 |
| West Bengal | Update every 5 years from registration or last update; the certificate is "granted permanently" | 30 credit hours in 5 years, at least 20 from West Bengal organisations and 10 from outside. Pro rata (6 a year) for renewals in 2025 to 2030. Exempt after 65 | Not stated; one undated WBMC notice says updating with CME certificates "has not yet been started" | WBMC Credit Point Guidelines, 24 June 2025; WBMC notice 92 |
| Gujarat | Every 5 years the Registrar calls for applications to continue names on the register (Act s.23) | "30 hours per year or 150 Credit Points for every 5 years" | Name removed if no application after a further notice; re-entry within 6 months on a fee | GMC CME guideline page; Gujarat Medical Council Act 1967 as modified to 2007 |
| Punjab | Every 5 years, within 2 months of expiry (Act s.13-B) | 50 credited hours of CME in every 5 years | Not stated in s.13-B | Punjab Medical Registration (Amendment) Act 2010; council site did not load |
| Kerala | Not stated on pages we read; renewal announced as "forthcoming" | Not stated on pages we read | Data collection deadline extended to 31 Oct 2026; the notice says this is not renewal | KSMC notice of 15-10-2026 |
| Uttar Pradesh | Not stated on pages we read | Not stated on pages we read | See council site | UPMC home and fees pages |
| Maharashtra | See council site | See council site | See council site | Site did not show content to our fetch |
| Delhi | See council site | See council site | See council site | Site did not show content to our fetch |
| Tamil Nadu | See council site | See council site | See council site | Site did not load |
Two inconsistencies are worth knowing. West Bengal's guidelines say the full 30 consolidated hours apply from January 2031, while its notice 92 says January 2030. Telangana's renewal form lists a fee of ₹2,100, while its fee notice effective 15 February 2024 lists ₹1,000 for renewal. Ask the council which figure applies before you pay.
How to renew your state registration
The steps below follow what the Telangana, West Bengal and Karnataka documents ask for. Your council's portal or form is the authority on the exact order and fee.
- Find your due date. West Bengal certificates carry "To be renewed after every 5 years from the date of issue" and renewed ones say "Valid till". Telangana counts five years from your original registration. If your certificate shows no date, ask the council.
- Count your credit hours for the current five-year block. In Karnataka you can generate attendance certificates from your KMC login. West Bengal asks you to upload CME certificates with the online application.
- Collect the documents. Telangana's form asks for the original final registration or last renewal certificate with a copy, additional qualification registration certificates, a passport photograph, optional date-of-birth proof, and 30 CME credit points.
- Apply on the council's portal or form and pay the fee. Telangana accepts UPI and card, with a card charge.
- Keep the acknowledgement and the renewed certificate together. Under the 2023 NMC regulations, a missing application three months after expiry is what turns your entry inactive, so the date you applied matters.
What happens if you miss the renewal date
It depends on the council and on how late you are. These are the consequences the documents we read set out.
- Telangana: one year of grace after the five years, then a delay fee of ₹500 per year, capped at ₹2,000.
- Gujarat: under section 23 of the 1967 Act (as modified to 2007), the Registrar sends a further notice; if you still do not apply by its date, your name is removed from the register. An application within six months of that date can get it re-entered on payment of a fee.
- NMC 2023 registration regulations: no application within three months of expiry means your entry is marked inactive and you are not entitled to practise.
Section 34 of the NMC Act bars anyone not enrolled from practising or signing statutory certificates. Whether your council treats a lapsed renewal as removal from its register is a question for that council, in writing. Until it is settled, do not sign certificates on a lapsed registration.
How CME credits are earned and what counts
Credit hours count only when the programme is accredited by your council, or by a body your council accepts. The Karnataka Medical Council says it "is the only body who is eligible of accrediting CME credit points" and that accreditation by others "will not be considered valid." Gujarat says awarding credit points is at the council's "sole discretion". West Bengal accredits programmes by organisations registered under the Society Act and sends an observer.
- Programme length: Karnataka gives two credit hours for an 8-hour programme and does not accredit anything under 4 hours.
- Online CME: Karnataka counts only 1 online credit hour of the 6 per year. West Bengal counts online credits up to 35% of the five-year total, or 70% for doctors posted in rural or difficult areas, at 1 to 3 points per online CME depending on length.
- Annual caps: Karnataka counts a maximum of 6 credit hours a year; West Bengal counts a maximum of 10 points a year and does not carry points into the next five-year block.
- Other routes: Karnataka gives 4 credit hours a year to postgraduate students and to teachers in recognised institutions. West Bengal awards points for faculty posts, PG training, publications and speaking.
- Sponsored programmes: Karnataka does not credit CMEs held by a drug or equipment company to promote its product, or by a hospital for marketing. West Bengal excludes pharmaceutical-sponsored programmes from credit points.
NMR re-registration is a separate step
The National Medical Register is the NMC's central register. The EMRB public notice issued with the NMC letter of 30 August 2024 says "All the MBBS doctors who are already registered on Indian Medical Register (IMR) have to register again on the NMR", using a digital copy of the MBBS degree, the first registration certificate and Aadhaar. At that stage only the basic MBBS qualification could be registered. The notice asks doctors to reach the portal through the NMC website, and gives nmr@nmc.org.in for queries.
Nothing in that notice changes your state renewal. NMR registration and state renewal are two separate filings, and doing one does not complete the other. The status of the NMR, including the 2026 draft proposing it be made mandatory, is tracked on our State Medical Councils guide.
What to keep in the clinic file
Keep one folder per doctor, paper or scanned, next to the clinic's own registration papers (see clinic registration in India for those).
- The current state registration certificate, with its renewal or validity date written on the folder cover.
- The last renewal certificate or acknowledgement, with the date the application was made.
- Registration certificates for each additional qualification.
- CME certificates for the current five-year block, with a running total against your council's number.
- The NMR application reference and, once issued, the NMR ID.
- For visiting consultants: a copy of each one's current certificate, checked against its date before each renewal cycle.
The registration number on your letterhead and certificates should be the current one. Our post on NMC advertising rules for clinics covers what else may appear there. If you have also listed yourself on the Healthcare Professionals Registry, see ABDM HFR and HPR registration for a private clinic.
Questions
How many CME credit hours do I need for medical council registration renewal?
It depends on your council. The national 2002 regulation asks for at least 30 hours every five years. Karnataka and West Bengal ask for 30 credit hours in five years, Telangana is phasing up to 30 by 1 January 2028 (18 for applications from 1 January 2026), Punjab's Act says 50 credited hours, and Gujarat's CME page says 150 credit points per five years. Check your council's latest notice.
Is NMR registration the same as renewing my state registration?
No. The NMC's 2024 notice asks MBBS doctors on the Indian Medical Register to register again on the National Medical Register. State renewal is filed with your State Medical Council under its own Act and rules. Do both.
What happens if my medical registration renewal is late?
Consequences vary by council. Telangana gives a one-year grace period and then charges ₹500 a year up to ₹2,000. Gujarat's Act allows removal of the name after a further notice, with re-entry within six months on a fee. The NMC's 2023 registration regulations mark an entry inactive if no renewal application arrives within three months of expiry.
Do doctors over 65 need CME credits for renewal?
Karnataka and West Bengal exempt doctors after 65 from credit hours but still require renewal. Telangana says credit points are required even for doctors above 65. Other councils set their own rule.
Sources
- National Medical Commission Act, 2019 (No. 30 of 2019), sections 31, 33 and 34, Gazette of India, 8 August 2019 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- National Medical Commission, Indian Medical Council (Professional Conduct, Etiquette and Ethics) Regulations, 2002, amended up to 8 October 2016 (regulation 1.2.3) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- National Medical Commission, Registration of Medical Practitioners and Licence to Practice Medicine Regulations, 2023, No. R.15021/04/2022-EMRB-Reg., 10 May 2023, Gazette of India No. 320 (regulations 1, 4, 8, 12) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- National Medical Commission, Registered Medical Practitioner (Professional Conduct) Regulations, 2023, 2 August 2023, regulation 4 and Guideline-10 (Gazette copy; held in abeyance) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- National Medical Commission, RMP (Professional Conduct) (Amendment) Regulations, 2023, No. R-12013/01/2022/Ethics, 23 August 2023, Gazette of India No. 596 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- National Medical Commission, e-Gazette notifications listing (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- National Medical Commission, letter of 30 August 2024 with EMRB public notice F. No. R.15014/Gen/(12)/2023-Regn. on the National Medical Register (copy) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Karnataka Medical Council, CME page (credit hours, renewal, accreditation) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Telangana State Medical Council, Application for Renewal / Re-Registration (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Telangana State Medical Council, Notification for Renewal of Registration, TSMC/CME Credit Points for RR/2023, 29 November 2023 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Telangana State Medical Council, Revised fee structure w.e.f. 15 February 2024 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- West Bengal Medical Council, WBMC Credit Point Guidelines, No. 1493-C/28-2012, 24 June 2025 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- West Bengal Medical Council, Information for all concerned (renewal and credit hours), notice 92 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Gujarat Medical Council, CME Guideline (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Gujarat Medical Council Act, 1967 (Gujarat Act No. 10 of 1968), as modified up to 31 August 2007, section 23 (copy) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Government of Punjab, Punjab Medical Registration (Amendment) Act, 2010 (Punjab Act No. 24 of 2010), section 13-B (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Kerala State Medical Councils, Notice No. KSMCT/1808/2026-MGR-1, 15 October 2026 (data collection before renewal) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
This is operational guidance for clinics, not legal or tax advice. Confirm with your state authority, council or CA.
Drafted with AI assistance; every fact checked against the sources listed; reviewed by Shaurya Pratap Singh.