Starting a clinic
Clinic registration fees by state in India Provisional, permanent and renewal fees for a single-doctor OPD, from official schedules.
Each state sets its own registration fee for a clinic, and most doctors only find out the figure at the counter. We pulled every fee schedule we could find on an official site on 26 October 2026 and put the single-doctor OPD row side by side.
Published · Last reviewed · 9 min read
- For a single-doctor OPD, published provisional fees run from nil in Uttarakhand to ₹5,000 in Tamil Nadu. Karnataka charges ₹3,100 for a consultation-only clinic; Gujarat ₹1,000 provisional and ₹2,000 permanent.
- Many schedules split the fee by urban, rural and metro location, and some by what the clinic does: Karnataka charges ₹6,300 once a clinic adds a dispensary or diagnostic support.
- Late applications usually cost double. Renewal is half the fee in Uttar Pradesh, Kashmir and Gujarat (permanent), and the full fee in Telangana and Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.
Short answer: clinic registration fees in India are small next to rent and salaries, and every state sets its own. A single-doctor OPD pays nothing in Uttarakhand, ₹100 provisional and ₹500 permanent in an urban area of Uttar Pradesh, ₹1,000 and ₹2,000 in Gujarat, ₹3,100 in Karnataka and ₹5,000 in Tamil Nadu, according to the official schedules we fetched on 26 October 2026. The table below covers 17 states and union territories; Jammu and Kashmir has separate schedules for Jammu and for Kashmir. For anywhere else, the district Chief Medical Officer or registering authority has the current figure.
What does a single-doctor OPD clinic pay in each state?
| State or UT | Category in the schedule | Provisional | Permanent | Renewal and late fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andaman and Nicobar | OPD / single doctor clinic | Urban ₹500; rural ₹250 | Shown as NA | Not stated |
| Arunachal Pradesh | OPD / single doctor clinic | ₹1,000 (one figure) | Not split | Not stated |
| Assam | OPD / single doctor clinic | Urban ₹500; rural ₹100; metro ₹1,500 | Urban ₹1,000; rural ₹500; metro ₹3,000 | Not stated |
| Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu | OPD | Urban ₹500; rural ₹250 | Urban ₹1,000; rural ₹500 | Renewal same as registration; late double |
| Gujarat | Clinic / consulting room / polyclinic | ₹1,000 | ₹2,000 | Permanent renewal half (₹1,000); late double |
| Himachal Pradesh | OPD / single doctor clinic | Urban ₹500; rural ₹500 | Urban ₹3,000; rural ₹1,500 | Not stated |
| Jammu | OPD / single doctor clinic | Urban ₹100; rural ₹50 | Urban ₹500; rural ₹250 | Not stated |
| Kashmir | OPD / single doctor clinic | ₹100 | ₹500 | Renewal half; late double |
| Jharkhand | OPD / single doctor clinic | ₹500 | Not listed | Not stated; polyclinic ₹1,000 |
| Karnataka | Clinic/Polyclinic Only Consultation | ₹3,100 (one figure) | Not split | Not stated on the page |
| Mizoram | OPD / single doctor clinic | Urban ₹1,000; rural ₹500 | Urban ₹10,000; rural ₹5,000 | Not stated |
| Puducherry | OPD / single doctor clinic | Urban ₹1,000; rural ₹500 | Urban ₹3,000; rural ₹1,500 | Not stated |
| Rajasthan | OPD / single doctor clinic | Urban nil; rural nil; metro ₹100 | Urban ₹200; rural ₹100; metro ₹500 | Not stated |
| Sikkim | OPD / single doctor clinic | Urban ₹1,000; rural ₹500 | Urban ₹3,000; rural ₹2,000 | Not stated |
| Tamil Nadu | Every clinical establishment (Form I) | ₹5,000 (one fee) | Not split | Certificate 5 years; renew 90 days before expiry |
| Telangana | Clinics / consultation rooms (solo practitioners) | Metro ₹2,000; urban ₹1,000; rural ₹500; tribal ₹250 | Metro ₹4,000; urban ₹2,000; rural ₹1,000; tribal ₹500 | Renewal same as original; late double |
| Uttar Pradesh | OPD / single doctor clinic | Urban ₹100; rural ₹50; metro ₹200 | Urban ₹500; rural ₹250 | Renewal half; late double |
| Uttarakhand | OPD / single doctor clinic | Nil | Nil | Registration still compulsory |
States not listed: we could not find an official fee schedule online on 26 Oct 2026; ask the district CMO/registering authority. That includes Bihar, which is on the central Act list but has no schedule on the Ministry's fee page, and Kerala, West Bengal, Goa, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab and Odisha, where we found no published amount for a clinic on an official site.
A few cells need a word. Uttar Pradesh's schedule leaves the metro permanent fee blank for an OPD clinic. Andaman and Nicobar prints "NA" in the permanent column. Arunachal Pradesh and Karnataka print one amount for the category with no provisional or permanent split. Tamil Nadu's Rules set one fee, "a sum of rupees five thousand", for every application, paid by demand draft or treasury challan, and its Act makes a certificate valid for five years.
Where does the schedule list no fee for an OPD clinic?
| State or UT | What the schedule shows | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Haryana | Bed bands from 51 beds; labs ₹500 provisional, ₹2,000 permanent | The Act applies above 50 beds and to labs; ask about a bedless clinic |
| Chandigarh | Appeal ₹1,000; urban only; no OPD amount | Ask the registering authority |
| Ladakh | Table with no amounts | Ask the registering authority |
| Lakshadweep | Pay-ward and test charges only | Ask the registering authority |
| Delhi | Nursing homes: up to 10 beds ₹2,000 for three years | Applies to at least 2 indoor beds; not a bedless clinic |
Uttarakhand belongs in this conversation too, for the opposite reason. Its schedule says: "No fees for outpatient care and Clinical Establishments upto 50 beds but registration under Clinical establishment Act is compulsory for every Clinical establishment". Nil fee does not mean no registration. Delhi's 2011 rules set the bed-based fee for three years, with a late fee of ten per cent of the renewal fee "per month or part thereof" and refusal of renewal if you are more than six months late.
Why your category changes the fee
Most schedules price by what the clinic does, so the same doctor can pay double by ticking the wrong box. Karnataka's KPME portal lists ₹3,100 for "Clinic/Polyclinic Only Consultation" and ₹6,300 each for a clinic with diagnostic support, with a dispensary or with observation. Telangana charges a polyclinic of group practitioners ₹3,000 provisional in a metro area against ₹2,000 for a solo practitioner. Gujarat puts a clinic, consulting room and polyclinic in one band at ₹1,000 and ₹2,000, and an establishment of up to 15 beds at ₹2,000 and ₹8,000.
Labs inside a clinic are treated differently from state to state. Uttar Pradesh, Kashmir and Uttarakhand say no separate registration is needed when a laboratory or diagnostic centre is part of an establishment providing out-patient or in-patient care. Telangana's schedule says the opposite: "separate registration is required". If you run even a small pathology corner, read your state's note before you file.
How do renewal and late fees work?
| State or UT | Renewal | Late application |
|---|---|---|
| Uttar Pradesh | Half the registration fee | Double the registration fee |
| Uttarakhand | Half the permanent fee | Double the renewal fee plus ₹100 a day |
| Kashmir | Half the registration fee | Double the registration fee |
| Telangana | Same as the original fee | Double the registration fee |
| Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu | Same as registration | Double the registration fee |
| Gujarat | Half the permanent fee | Double the provisional or permanent fee |
| Delhi (nursing homes) | Every third year, by 31 January | 10% of the renewal fee per month |
Under the central Act the clock is the same everywhere it applies. Provisional registration is valid "to the last day of the twelfth month from the date of issue" (section 17), renewal is due thirty days before expiry, and a late renewal is allowed "on payment of such enhanced fees, as may be prescribed" (section 22). A permanent certificate is valid for five years (section 30(2)) and its renewal is due within six months before expiry (section 30(4)). The procedure, documents and timelines are in our clinic registration guide.
Who sets the fee, and why there is no national figure
The Clinical Establishments Act, 2010 never names an amount. Section 14(1) asks for an application "along with the prescribed fee", section 24 says a permanent application is "accompanied by such fees, as may be prescribed", and section 35 says "The State Government may charge fees for different categories of clinical establishments". The Ministry's FAQ puts it plainly: the fee is "as determined by the State Government". States with their own laws do the same; Tamil Nadu's Act caps its fee at "five thousand rupees" and leaves the exact sum to the rules.
What other recurring costs come with registration?
The registration fee is rarely the only government payment in the first year. These are the ones tied to it, with the mechanism and without amounts, because the amounts are set locally.
- Bio-medical waste authorisation. Rule 10 of the Bio-Medical Waste Management Rules, 2016 requires every occupier handling bio-medical waste, "irrespective of the quantity", to apply in Form II to the State Pollution Control Board or Pollution Control Committee. For a non-bedded clinic the authorisation is one time, and it "shall be deemed to have been granted" if the board does not object within ninety days. The Rules themselves set no fee, so ask your board for its current charge. You also pay a common bio-medical waste treatment facility for collection; that is a contract price. Our bio-medical waste guide has the details.
- Trade or health licence. Some municipal bodies license clinics as a trade or under a health bye-law. Whether you need one, and what it costs, depends on the municipality and the premises; ask the local body's health or licence department.
- Duplicates and changes. Schedules charge for a duplicate certificate and for a change of owner, management or name: ₹100 for a change in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, ₹5,000 in Telangana, ₹2,000 in Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, and half the registration fee in Gujarat. Tamil Nadu charges ₹300 for a duplicate certificate.
- Appeals. If registration is refused, the appeal also carries a fee: ₹100 in Uttar Pradesh, ₹1,000 in Kashmir and in Gujarat for a clinic, ₹5,000 for a "special appeal" in Telangana.
How to pay the right fee the first time
- Confirm which law applies in your state and whether a bedless clinic is covered. Haryana's adopted Act, for example, reaches establishments above 50 beds and diagnostic labs.
- Pick the category that matches what you actually do on day one. If you will dispense medicines or run tests, say so; changing category later can mean a fresh fee.
- Check the location band. Urban, rural and metro are defined by the state; ask the office which band your ward or village falls in.
- Apply before you open, or within the window your state allows. A late application doubles the fee in most schedules above.
- If you practise more than one system of medicine, check whether each needs its own application. Tamil Nadu's rule 7(2) requires a separate application for each.
- Pay through the channel the office names (portal, treasury challan or demand draft) and keep the receipt with the application acknowledgement. Diary the renewal date on the day you receive the certificate.
Questions
What is the clinic registration fee in Uttar Pradesh?
The schedule on the Ministry of Health's portal lists, for an out-patient or single-doctor clinic, ₹100 provisional and ₹500 permanent in urban areas, ₹50 and ₹250 in rural areas, and ₹200 provisional in metro areas. Renewal is half the registration fee and a late application costs double. Confirm with the CMO's office before you pay.
How much is KPME registration for a clinic in Karnataka?
The KPME portal lists ₹3,100 for "Clinic/Polyclinic Only Consultation" and ₹6,300 for a clinic with diagnostic support, with a dispensary or with observation. The page was last updated on 1 October 2026 and shows one amount per category, with no separate renewal figure.
Is there a registration fee for clinics in Tamil Nadu?
Yes. Rule 7 of the Tamil Nadu Clinical Establishments (Regulations) Rules, 2018 asks for ₹5,000 with the Form I application, by demand draft or treasury challan. The Act makes the certificate valid for five years, and rule 9 asks for the renewal application ninety days before it expires. A duplicate certificate costs ₹300.
Do I still need to register if my state charges no fee?
Yes. Uttarakhand's schedule charges nothing for out-patient care and establishments up to 50 beds, but says registration is "compulsory for every Clinical establishment" under the Act. A nil fee only changes what you pay; you still apply.
Is the bio-medical waste authorisation fee part of clinic registration?
No. It is a separate authorisation from the State Pollution Control Board or Committee under rule 10 of the Bio-Medical Waste Management Rules, 2016. For a non-bedded clinic it is one time. The Rules do not set the fee; your board does, and the treatment facility's collection charge is a separate contract.
Sources
- Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Clinical Establishments portal, Provisional and Permanent Fees (index of state schedules; last update 22-10-2026) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Uttar Pradesh (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Uttarakhand (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Rajasthan (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Jharkhand (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Telangana (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Himachal Pradesh (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Assam (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Sikkim (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Mizoram (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Arunachal Pradesh (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Andaman and Nicobar (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Jammu (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Kashmir (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Puducherry (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Haryana (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Chandigarh (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Ladakh (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- MoHFW portal, fee schedule: Lakshadweep (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Gujarat Clinical Establishments (Registration and Regulation) Amendment Rules, 2024, Gujarat Government Gazette, 13 March 2024, Annexure 7 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Health and Family Welfare Department, Karnataka, KPME portal, Category Fees (last updated 01/10/2026) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Tamil Nadu Clinical Establishments (Regulations) Rules, 2018, G.O. Ms. No. 206, 1 June 2018, rules 7, 9 and 10 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Tamil Nadu Private Clinical Establishments (Regulation) Act, 1997 (Act 4 of 1997) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Government of NCT of Delhi, Delhi Nursing Homes Registration (Amendment) Rules, 2011, notification of 4 March 2011, rules 6 and 7 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Directorate General of Health Services, Delhi, Nursing Home Cell FAQ (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Health Department, Government of Haryana, Clinical Establishment Act page (scope and fee table) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- The Clinical Establishments (Registration and Regulation) Act, 2010 (No. 23 of 2010), sections 14, 17, 22, 24, 30 and 35 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Clinical Establishments portal, FAQ (fees as determined by the State Government) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Bio-Medical Waste Management Rules, 2016, rule 10 (CPCB copy) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
This is operational guidance for clinics, not legal or tax advice. Confirm with your state authority, council or CA.
Drafted with AI assistance; every fact checked against the sources listed; reviewed by Shaurya Pratap Singh.