Starting a clinic
Fire NOC and trade licence for a clinic in India When an OPD clinic needs its own fire certificate, when the building's covers it, and which cities list clinics as a trade.
A fire NOC and a trade licence are the two municipal-side papers a new clinic gets asked about most, usually by a landlord, a bank or a consultant. Neither is set by one national rule. Fire certificates follow the building's height and use under each state's fire law; trade licences follow each city's list of trades.
Published · Last reviewed · 10 min read
- The Delhi Fire Service Rules, 2010 list the buildings that need a fire safety certificate by height and use: business buildings above 15 metres or ground plus four floors, institutional buildings above 9 metres or ground plus two. The National Building Code 2016 puts doctors' offices and outpatient clinics in the business group and hospitals and nursing homes in the institutional group.
- A single-doctor OPD on the ground floor of a low building is usually below these thresholds. A clinic inside a taller commercial building sits under the building's fire certificate, which the owner or occupier holds and keeps current. Maharashtra's 2006 Act puts the duty to provide and maintain fire measures on the owner or occupier.
- Trade licences are city by city. Hyderabad's GHMC lists "Medical Establishments" as a trade licence category. Delhi's MCD describes its health trade licence as covering trading, manufacturing, storage, restaurant and food supply activities, and does not name clinics.
A clinic needs its own fire certificate only when the building it occupies crosses the height and use thresholds in the state's fire law. Under the Delhi Fire Service Rules, 2010, an outpatient clinic counts as a business occupancy and needs a certificate only above 15 metres or ground plus four floors; a nursing home with beds counts as institutional and crosses at 9 metres or ground plus two. If your clinic is a unit in a larger commercial building, the building's fire certificate is what the fire service checks, and the owner or occupier is responsible for it. A trade licence depends on your city: some municipal corporations list medical establishments as a trade, others do not mention clinics at all.
What is a fire NOC, and who issues it?
"Fire NOC" is the everyday name for a certificate from the state fire service that a building has the fire prevention and life safety measures the law asks of it. Each state has its own fire law, so the name, the thresholds and the form change from state to state. Delhi calls it a Fire Safety Certificate, issued under the Delhi Fire Service Act, 2007 and the Delhi Fire Service Rules, 2010. Maharashtra works through the Maharashtra Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures Act, 2006 (Mah. III of 2007). Both point to the National Building Code of India (NBC) from the Bureau of Indian Standards, whose Part 4 deals with fire and life safety. A doctor renting a ground-floor unit usually meets the fire law only through the building's certificate.
Is a clinic a business building or an institutional one?
This decides which threshold applies to you. NBC 2016 Part 4, clause 3.1, classifies buildings by use. Group C, Institutional, covers buildings used for "medical or other treatment or care of persons suffering from physical or mental illness, disease or infirmity", and adds that "Institutional buildings ordinarily provide sleeping accommodation for the occupants." Subdivision C-1 names "hospitals, infirmaries, sanatoria and nursing homes".
Group E, Business, splits further. Subdivision E-1 is "Offices, banks, professional establishments, like offices of architects, engineers, doctors, lawyers, post offices and police stations". Subdivision E-2 is "Laboratories, outpatient clinics, research establishments, libraries and test houses". So a consulting room or an OPD clinic without beds is a business occupancy under the Code; a nursing home or day-care centre with beds where patients stay is institutional. Clause 3.1.11 adds that in a mixed-use building, fire protection for "the entire building shall be governed by the most restrictive provisions of the Code among those applicable for individual occupancies". Clause 2.38 defines a high rise building as "A building 15 m or above in height (irrespective of its occupancy)".
When does a clinic in Delhi need a fire safety certificate?
Rule 27 of the Delhi Fire Service Rules, 2010 lists the occupancies "likely to cause a risk of fire" for section 25 of the Act. Rule 28 uses the same list for the height of buildings under sections 33 and 35. The entries that matter for clinics:
| Building use | Needs a fire safety certificate when | Where a clinic fits |
|---|---|---|
| Business | Height more than 15 m or ground plus four upper storeys including mezzanine | Consulting rooms and OPD clinics (NBC E-1, E-2) |
| Institutional | Height more than 9 m or ground plus two upper storeys including mezzanine | Nursing homes and hospitals with beds (NBC C-1) |
| Mercantile | Height more than 9 m or ground plus two upper storeys including mezzanine | A clinic inside a market or shopping complex, if the building is classed mercantile |
| Residential (other than hotels) | Height more than 15 m or ground plus four upper storeys including mezzanine | A clinic run from a residential building |
Under rule 35 the owner or occupier applies to the Director, Delhi Fire Service, with "a certificate from the architect and owner or occupier" that the measures required by rule 33 are in place. A team of fire officers inspects "the availability and operability" of the measures before the certificate is granted or refused. Rule 33 points to the building bye-laws and the National Building Code for the measures, which include exits, fire extinguishers, first-aid hose reels, detection and alarm, and sprinklers, scaled to height and occupancy. A building already holding a No Objection Certificate for its occupancy "shall deemed to have been issued Fire Safety Certificate" (rule 35(6)).
As published in 2010, rule 36 makes the certificate valid for "5 years for residential buildings (other than hotels) and 3 years for non-residential buildings including hotels", rule 37 asks for the renewal application "six months before the expiry", and rule 38(2) asks the occupier to declare every year that the measures "are in best repairs". The rules have been amended since 2010. Check the current validity and renewal process with the Delhi Fire Service before you rely on these periods.
What does Maharashtra's fire law ask of a clinic?
Section 3(1) of the Maharashtra Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures Act, 2006 puts the duty on "the owner or where the owner is not traceable, the occupier, of a building as classified in the Schedule-I". They "shall provide fire prevention and life safety measures" and the minimum fire fighting installations set against that building in the Schedule, and "shall maintain the fire prevention and life safety measures in good repair and efficient condition at all times". The Explanation to section 3 says the Schedule's building classes conform to the National Building Code of India, 2005.
Section 3(3) asks the owner or occupier to give the Chief Fire Officer or nominated officer "a certificate in the prescribed form issued by a Licensed Agency" on compliance, and then "a certificate in the prescribed form, twice a year in the months of January and July" on maintenance. A Licensed Agency is a person or firm licensed by the Director or the Chief Fire Officer (section 2(6)). For a clinic renting a unit, the practical question is whether the landlord or the society has these certificates on file.
Clinic in a commercial complex: whose fire certificate is it?
In both laws we read, the duty sits with "the owner or occupier" of the building or premises. In a multi-storey commercial building with many tenants, the certificate is issued for the building and the owner, developer or management body applies for it and keeps it current. A tenant clinic is an occupier of its own unit, so it should not undo the building's compliance: no blocked exits, no fixed partitions across a corridor, no removed extinguishers or hose reels.
- Before signing the lease, ask the landlord for the building's current fire certificate or NOC and, in Maharashtra, the latest January or July maintenance certificate.
- If you plan beds, a day-care area or an operation theatre, ask the fire service whether that changes the occupancy class to institutional, which brings the lower 9 metre line in Delhi.
- Put the landlord's duty to keep the building's fire certificate current, and to share renewals with you, into the lease.
Does clinical establishment registration ask for a fire NOC?
Not in the central form. The Ministry of Health's Application for Provisional Registration of Clinical Establishment under section 14 of the Clinical Establishments Act, 2010 (version 3, revised 7 August 2012) asks for the clinic's name and address, the owner, the person in charge with council registration, ownership type, system of medicine, type of services and type of establishment, where "Single practitioner" is a tick box under Outpatient. It has no fire safety question. The Ministry's sub-committee template for developing minimum standards lists "Appropriate Fire exit signage's" among safety signage, and for laboratories adds "Minimum one fire extinguisher". Your state's own forms and standards can ask more, so read the checklist for your category. Which clinical establishments law applies in your state is in our clinic registration guide.
Does a clinic need a municipal trade licence?
A trade licence is issued by the municipal corporation under its own Act for trades on its list. Whether a clinic is on the list depends on the city. We read two corporations' own pages.
Hyderabad. The Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation describes a trade licence as "a License issued by the Local authority to run the listed business", and its online form lists "MEDICAL ESTABLISHMENTS" as a category alongside eating, veterinary, dangerous and offensive, and general establishments. Its citizen charter gives a service time of 30 days for a new licence and 10 days for renewal (documents are in the table below). Online, a provisional certificate issues on uploading ID proof and the lease deed; the final certificate with a Trade License Identification Number follows field verification. GHMC's fee sheet sets ₹3, ₹4 or ₹6 per square foot by the width of the road the premises face.
Delhi. The Municipal Corporation of Delhi's health trade licence page cites section 417 of the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957: "any person whosoever desires to do trade under public health policy, is required to obtain license under Health Trade". It describes the licence as "related to the trading, manufacturing, storage, restaurant and food supply activities". Clinics are not named on that page. If your clinic also sells medicines or runs a canteen, ask the zone's public health department whether that part needs a licence.
| Place | Authority | Is an OPD clinic covered? | Documents named | Validity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delhi, fire | Delhi Fire Service (Director) | Only if the building crosses rule 27: business above 15 m or G+4; institutional above 9 m or G+2 | Form I application with architect and owner or occupier certificate; inspection | 3 years for non-residential buildings as published in 2010; rules amended since, confirm with DFS |
| Maharashtra, fire | Chief Fire Officer or nominated officer | Buildings classed in Schedule I of the 2006 Act; duty on owner or occupier | Licensed Agency compliance certificate; maintenance certificate each January and July | Maintenance certificate twice a year |
| Hyderabad, trade licence | GHMC (AMOH, Deputy Commissioner) | Yes, "Medical Establishments" is a listed category | Property tax receipt, lease or sale deed, location plan, neighbours' NOC, sanction plan, photos | Not stated on the page; renewal service listed |
| Delhi, trade licence | MCD Public Health Department | Not named in MCD's description of the health trade licence | Online application on the MCD portal | Not stated on the page |
What fire safety should a small clinic have anyway?
These are practice, not law, unless your state's rules or your building's certificate say so. They address what tends to go wrong in small clinics: a UPS and an autoclave on one extension board, files stacked by the only door.
- At least one portable fire extinguisher near the reception and one near the electrical board, of a type suited to electrical and ordinary combustible fires. Ask the supplier which type and size suits your floor area, and get it refilled on the schedule printed on its label.
- A lit exit sign over the way out, and a corridor kept clear of wheelchairs, stock and the queue's chairs.
- Separate sockets for the autoclave, the refrigerator and the UPS, with the load checked by an electrician when you add equipment.
- Oxygen cylinders chained upright, away from heaters and from the exit path.
- A written note at the desk with the fire service number, the building's assembly point and who switches off the mains, and a short walk-through with new staff.
Bio-medical waste storage also needs a corner away from the exit; the rules for that are in our bio-medical waste guide for small clinics. For the full sequence of approvals when opening, see how to open a clinic in India and the documents required to open a clinic. The employment side is in our post on shop and establishment registration for clinics.
Questions
Does a ground-floor single-doctor clinic need a fire NOC?
In Delhi, not on its own account if the building is no more than 15 metres and ground plus four floors, because an OPD clinic is a business occupancy under rule 27. The building may still need a certificate for other uses. Other states set their own thresholds; ask the state fire service with your building's height and use.
Who is responsible for the fire certificate, the landlord or the clinic?
The Delhi rules and the Maharashtra Act both place the duty on the owner or occupier. In a multi-tenant building the owner or management usually holds the building's certificate, and each tenant must not undo its measures. Ask for a copy before signing the lease and put renewal duties into the lease.
How often is a fire certificate renewed?
The Delhi rules as published in 2010 set three years for non-residential buildings, with renewal applied for six months before expiry and a yearly declaration. Those rules have been amended since, so confirm with the Delhi Fire Service. Maharashtra asks for maintenance certificates every January and July.
Does adding beds change anything?
Yes. The National Building Code treats buildings where patients sleep, such as nursing homes, as institutional. In Delhi that lowers the line for a fire safety certificate from 15 metres to 9 metres, or from ground plus four floors to ground plus two. Ask the fire service before you add beds or a day-care area.
Is a trade licence needed for a clinic in every city?
No single rule applies. GHMC in Hyderabad lists medical establishments as a trade licence category. MCD in Delhi describes its health trade licence around trading, storage and food activities without naming clinics. For other cities, ask the municipal corporation's licence or health department in writing.
Sources
- Delhi Fire Service Rules, 2010, under the Delhi Fire Service Act, 2007 (Delhi Act 2 of 2009), rules 27, 28, 33, 35, 36, 37, 38 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Maharashtra Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures Act, 2006 (Mah. III of 2007), English translation, sections 2(6), 3, 45 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Bureau of Indian Standards, National Building Code of India 2016 (SP 7:2016), Volume 1, Part 4 Fire and Life Safety, clauses 2.38, 3.1.4, 3.1.6, 3.1.11 (copy hosted by the Puducherry Fire Service) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Application for Provisional Registration of Clinical Establishment under section 14 of the Clinical Establishments Act, 2010, V.3 revised 7 August 2012 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Recommendations of the Sub-committee on Template for Developing Minimum Standards (clinical establishments) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation, Trade Licence: issue of new and renewal licence (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation, Citizen Charter (trade licence services and documents) (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation, Online procedure for new trade licence (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation, Trade licence fee rates (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
- Municipal Corporation of Delhi, Health Trade License (citizen portal), citing section 417 of the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957 (accessed 26 Oct 2026)
This is operational guidance for clinics, not legal or tax advice. Confirm with your state authority, council or CA.
Drafted with AI assistance; every fact checked against the sources listed; reviewed by Shaurya Pratap Singh.