- Home
- State medical councils
- Kerala Medical Council (TCMC) registration
State medical councils
Kerala Medical Council (TCMC) registration What replaced the Travancore-Cochin Medical Council, and how MBBS registration works now.
The Travancore-Cochin Medical Council registration you may be looking for is now handled by the Kerala State Medical Councils, set up under the Kerala State Medical Practitioners Act, 2021. MBBS permanent registration is filed online at the council's automation portal and costs ₹3,000 if you apply within two months, with fines after that.
Published · Last reviewed · 5 min read
- Section 48 of the Kerala State Medical Practitioners Act, 2021 repealed the Travancore-Cochin Medical Practitioners Act, 1953; section 27 carries old registrations over.
- MBBS permanent registration is online only, ₹3,000 within two months, rising to ₹12,000 if filed three to four years late.
- Section 25(9) of the 2021 Act says every practitioner "shall renew his registration in every ten years as prescribed by rules".
To register as a modern medicine doctor in Kerala, apply online on the Kerala State Medical Councils (KSMC) automation portal, then send the printed acknowledgement and attested documents to the council in Thiruvananthapuram. Permanent registration for an MBBS graduate costs ₹3,000 if filed within two months. The Travancore-Cochin Medical Council (TCMC) still appears on the NMC's list without a website, but the 2021 Act replaced it, and the council's official site is medicalcouncil.kerala.gov.in. The details below come from that site and the Act it publishes, read on 31 Oct 2026.
What happened to the Travancore-Cochin Medical Council?
The Kerala State Medical Practitioners Act, 2021 (Act 36 of 2021, Kerala Gazette Extraordinary of 14 Nov 2021) repealed the Travancore-Cochin Medical Practitioners Act, 1953. Section 3 sets up three councils "commonly known as Kerala State Medical Councils": the Council of Modern Medicine, the Council of Indian Systems of Medicine and the Council of Homoeopathic Medicine. MBBS doctors register with the Council of Modern Medicine. Section 27 says anyone registered under the 1953 Act is deemed registered under the new one, so an existing TCMC number stays valid. Section 36 bars anyone who is not registered from practising or holding themselves out as practising modern medicine in Kerala. Our state medical councils overview explains how state and national registration fit together.
What services and fees does the Kerala council list?
The council's services menu covers provisional and permanent registration, additional qualification, updation and renewal, duplicates, name or address change, provisional NOC, NOC and good standing. Its fee page, signed by the Registrar on 6 Apr 2018, gives fees in force from 4 Nov 2016:
| Service | Fee | Mode |
|---|---|---|
| Provisional registration | ₹1,000 | Online |
| Permanent registration (Kerala or other-state MBBS) | ₹3,000; fines apply after two months | Online, then documents to council |
| Additional registration | ₹2,000 / ₹4,000 (listed without labels) | Online |
| Foreign qualification: provisional / permanent | ₹15,000 / ₹20,000 | Online |
| Good standing certificate | ₹5,000 | Online only, no hard copy |
| No objection certificate | ₹1,500 | Online |
| Change of name or address | ₹2,000 | Online |
| Duplicate permanent registration | ₹10,000 | Online |
| Renewal (updation), modern medicine | Amount not stated on the fee page | Online |
For Kerala graduates the permanent registration instructions add fines for late filing: ₹5,000 in total between two and six months, ₹6,000 up to a year, ₹8,000 up to two years, ₹11,000 up to three years and ₹12,000 up to four years. The fee page also lists a Tatkal permanent registration at ₹5,000, but the automation portal says "TALKAL SCHEME IS NOT ALLOWED FOR THE TIME BEING".
What documents does Kerala permanent registration need?
For MBBS graduates who studied in Kerala, the council's instruction sheet lists:
- Online application on the automation portal
- Attested copy of birth certificate or SSLC certificate for date of birth
- Attested copy of the house surgency or internship (CRRI/CRMI) certificate
- Attested copy of the degree or provisional degree certificate from the university
- Original provisional registration certificate issued by the council
- True likeness certificate in the council's format
- Self-addressed cloth cover envelope with a ₹76 stamp
- Two passport size photos matching the profile photo and the likeness certificate
Attestation must be by a Kerala Government Gazetted Officer, with name, designation and office seal; "University /Aided institution/ Board attestation/Notary attestation not acceptable". Graduates from outside Kerala also upload the registration certificate and NOC from their state council. For the rest of the clinic paperwork, see our documents required to open a clinic list.
Is Kerala registration online or in person?
Online first, then paper by post or by hand. The permanent registration sheet says "Registration submission mode: Online Only", and after the online step you send the printed acknowledgement with the documents, in order and stapled, to the council. Payments on the portal are online; fees for services the portal does not cover go through SBI Collect. OTPs and new passwords go to your registered email, not by SMS. Good standing certificates need no hard copy and are downloaded once from your profile.
Does Kerala require renewal and CME credits?
The Act requires renewal every ten years, but no renewal process is published yet. Section 25(9) of the 2021 Act reads: "Every practitioner shall renew his registration in every ten years as prescribed by rules." The council's site carries a "Data Collection preparatory to forthcoming renewal of registration" page asking practitioners to update their registration details, and its fee page has a renewal row with no amount. The site does not state CME hours for renewal (read 31 Oct 2026). Watch the council's notices, and see our renewal and CME credits guide for other states.
Doctors registered in another state are covered by section 25(7) on transfer of registration and section 25(8), which requires an outside practitioner to "obtain the registration of the Council concerned for practicing as a medical practitioner for a specific period in the State".
How do I verify a Kerala doctor's registration?
The automation portal says every certificate it issues bears a QR code or online verification facility, so the certificate can be checked against the online copy. We did not find a public name search on the council's site. The NMC's Indian Medical Register search covers doctors registered with state councils and can be searched by name, registration number, year or council, with the note that "This data is being updated." See our note on the National Medical Register.
How do I contact the Kerala State Medical Councils?
The Registrar, Combined Council Building, Red Cross Road, Thiruvananthapuram 695 035, between the General Hospital and the Regional Institute of Ophthalmology. Phone 0471-2557227, email registrar.ksmc@kerala.gov.in. Section lines on the contact page include MBBS permanent registration 0471-2413570, PG registration 0471-2413571 and provisional, NOC and good standing 0471-2413574. The portal help desk is 0471-2557227 extension 30 and ksmchelpdesk@gmail.com. The homepage warns that BSNL phone lines may be down during Smart City works and asks people to use email or visit.
Where must the registration number appear?
Clause 1.4.1 of the Indian Medical Council (Professional Conduct, Etiquette and Ethics) Regulations, 2002 reads: "Every physician shall display the registration number accorded to him by the State Medical Council / Medical Council of India in his clinic and in all his prescriptions, certificates, money receipts given to his patients." Clause 1.4.2 limits the suffixes after your name to recognised degrees and qualifying certificates or honours.
Vitels prints prescriptions on your own letterhead, A4 or A5, with your Kerala registration number on every page, and verifies the registration when you sign up. Set up the header with the free clinic letterhead maker, or see e-prescription software.
Questions
Is my old TCMC registration still valid?
Yes. Section 27 of the Kerala State Medical Practitioners Act, 2021 deems every practitioner registered under the Travancore-Cochin Act, 1953 to be registered under the new Act.
How much is MBBS permanent registration in Kerala?
₹3,000 if you apply within two months of the university certificate, as the council's instructions showed on 31 Oct 2026. Fines raise it to between ₹5,000 and ₹12,000 for later applications.
Do Kerala doctors have to renew their registration?
The 2021 Act says every ten years, as prescribed by rules. The council is collecting data for a forthcoming renewal but had not published the renewal fee or process when we checked.
Who can attest documents for Kerala registration?
A Kerala Government Gazetted Officer, with name, designation and office seal. The council does not accept university, aided institution, board or notary attestation.
Sources
- Kerala State Medical Councils, official website (services, notices, contact) (accessed Invalid Date)
- Kerala State Medical Councils, Fees Structure (Registrar, 06-04-2018) (accessed Invalid Date)
- KSMC, Registration Instructions, Modern Medicine (accessed Invalid Date)
- KSMC, MBBS Permanent Registration (studied in Kerala) (accessed Invalid Date)
- KSMC, MBBS Permanent Registration (studied outside Kerala) (accessed Invalid Date)
- KSMC, Good Standing Certificate instructions (accessed Invalid Date)
- Kerala State Medical Practitioners Act, 2021 (Act 36 of 2021), Kerala Gazette Extraordinary, 14 November 2021, sections 3, 24, 25, 27, 36 and 48 (accessed Invalid Date)
- KSMC, Data Collection preparatory to forthcoming renewal of registration (accessed Invalid Date)
- KSMC, Online Registration System (automation portal) (accessed Invalid Date)
- KSMC, Contact Us (accessed Invalid Date)
- National Medical Commission, State Medical Councils (accessed Invalid Date)
- National Medical Commission, Indian Medical Register (accessed Invalid Date)
- Indian Medical Council (Professional Conduct, Etiquette and Ethics) Regulations, 2002, amended up to 8 October 2016, clauses 1.4.1 and 1.4.2 (NMC) (accessed Invalid Date)
This is operational guidance for clinics, not legal or tax advice. Confirm with your state authority, council or CA.
Drafted with AI assistance; every fact checked against the sources listed; reviewed by the Vitels editorial team.