Skip to content
  1. Home
  2. State medical councils
  3. Assam Medical Council registration and fees | Vitels

State medical councils

Assam Medical Council registration and fees | Vitels Provisional, permanent, additional degree and NOC on Sewa Setu, with the documents and charges each service lists.

Assam Medical Council registration is applied for online on the Government of Assam's Sewa Setu portal, where the services sit under the Assam Council of Medical Registration. The NMC lists no website for the council, so the Sewa Setu service pages are where the council publishes its documents list, charges and time limits.

Vitels TeamEditorial team, Vitels

Published · Last reviewed · 5 min read

In short
  • Sewa Setu lists permanent registration of MBBS doctors with a user charge of Rs. 5000 plus 18% GST and a stipulated time limit of seven working days (read 31 Oct 2026).
  • Provisional registration and registration of additional degrees each carry a Rs. 2000 user charge plus 18% GST on Sewa Setu.
  • Clause 1.4.1 of the 2002 conduct regulations requires the registration number in the clinic and on every prescription, certificate and money receipt.

To register with the Assam Medical Council, apply on the Sewa Setu portal (sewasetu.assam.gov.in) under the Assam Council of Medical Registration. The portal lists separate services for provisional registration, permanent registration of MBBS doctors, registration of additional degrees, a no objection certificate, re-registration and CME credit points. Each service page sets out the documents to upload, the user charge, GST and the stipulated time limit. The National Medical Commission's directory of state medical councils shows no website for the council (read 31 Oct 2026), so we have relied on those Sewa Setu pages and the NMC directory only.

Who needs Assam Medical Council registration?

An MBBS graduate who will practise in Assam. Sewa Setu has a provisional registration service for MBBS doctors (the certificate needed for internship) and a permanent registration service once internship is complete. The additional degree service gives seven working days for Indian medical graduates and 45 working days for foreign medical graduates, so foreign graduates use the same portal. We could not open the text of the Assam Medical Council Act on an official site in this session, so we do not quote it here.

What registration types and fees does Sewa Setu list?

Six services, each with its own user charge. Every page adds GST at 18%, a Rs. 30 service charge when you apply through a Public Facilitation Centre or Common Service Centre, Rs. 10 per page for printing and Rs. 5 per page for scanning at a PFC, and a convenience charge of 10. The table shows the user charge and time limit as each page states them.

Assam Council of Medical Registration services on Sewa Setu (read 31 Oct 2026)
ServiceUser chargeTime limit statedMode
Provisional Registration Certificate of MBBS DoctorRs. 2000 + 18% GST7 working daysOnline, Sewa Setu or PFC/CSC
Permanent registration of MBBS DoctorsRs. 5000 + 18% GST7 working daysOnline, Sewa Setu or PFC/CSC
Registration of Additional DegreesRs. 2000 + 18% GST7 working days (Indian graduates), 45 (foreign graduates)Online, Sewa Setu or PFC/CSC
Issuance of No Objection CertificateRs. 5000 + 18% GST7 working daysOnline, Sewa Setu or PFC/CSC
Re-registration of existing Registered Medical PractitionersNot stated on the page; only PFC/CSC charges listedNot statedOnline, Sewa Setu or PFC/CSC
Issue of Credit Points for attending CMERs. 2000 + 18% GST7 working daysOnline, Sewa Setu or PFC/CSC

Which documents does permanent registration need?

The permanent registration page on Sewa Setu marks all of these as mandatory:

  • Passport size photograph and applicant signature (JPEG or JPG, up to 1 MB each)
  • Class 10 admit card or birth certificate, and the HSLC pass certificate
  • HS final marksheet
  • Internship certificate
  • Annexure II, in the format attached on the service page
  • Registration certificate from Srimanta Sankaradeva University of Health Sciences or any other university
  • MBBS or equivalent pass certificate from the college or university, and all MBBS mark sheets
  • Provisional or permanent registration certificate of the concerned medical council

The page also offers a self declaration form to download. For the NOC, the page asks for the UG, PG or diploma certificate and the permanent registration certificate of the Assam Medical Council, plus a rural service completion certificate if you signed a bond with the government and an NOC from the Directorate of Medical Education for PG holders under bond. Our list of documents required to open a clinic covers what comes after registration.

How do you apply on Sewa Setu?

  1. Register on sewasetu.assam.gov.in with your full name, mobile number, state and a password, then log in.
  2. Open Apply Online, pick the Assam Council of Medical Registration service and read its Requirements tab.
  3. Fill in the form, upload the documents and pay on final submission.
  4. Note the application reference number sent by SMS and email, and use Track to follow it.
  5. If the office finds a discrepancy you are told by SMS and email and must correct the application or submit a fresh one.
  6. Download the certificate from the portal once it is issued.

You can also apply at a Public Facilitation Centre or Common Service Centre. The Sewa Setu toll free helpline is 1800-345-3574.

Does Assam require renewal and CME credits?

Sewa Setu lists a service called re-registration of existing registered medical practitioners, which asks for the pass certificate, the PG degree or diploma mark sheet and the council's permanent registration certificate. The page does not say how often re-registration falls due or what it costs beyond the PFC and CSC charges, and we could not open the governing Act in this session. Ask the Registrar before your certificate's date. The separate CME credit points service is for whoever runs a CME: it asks for a request letter on letterhead, the programme schedule and draft certificates. Our guide to registration renewal and CME credits compares councils.

How can a clinic or patient verify an Assam registration?

We found no public search for the Assam register on Sewa Setu. Use the Indian Medical Register search on the NMC website, which searches by doctor name and shows the registration number, the state medical council and the year of the information. Doctors are also moving to the National Medical Register: PIB's release of 23 Aug 2024 says applications on the NMR portal are "automatically forwarded to the respective State Medical Council for verification", and that doctors already on the Indian Medical Register "have to register again on the NMR".

How do you contact the Assam Medical Council?

These details are from the NMC's directory of state medical councils, read on 31 Oct 2026, because the council has no website of its own listed there.

Assam Medical Council, as listed by the NMC (read 31 Oct 2026)
DetailAs listed
AddressKhanapara, Guwahati 781022
Registrar, office0361-2366032
Registrar, emailassamcmr2016@gmail.com
President, office0361-2366236
WebsiteNone listed

Where must the registration number appear?

In the clinic and on every prescription, certificate and money receipt. Clause 1.4.1 of the Indian Medical Council (Professional Conduct, Etiquette and Ethics) Regulations, 2002 says: "Every physician shall display the registration number accorded to him by the State Medical Council / Medical Council of India in his clinic and in all his prescriptions, certificates, money receipts given to his patients." Clause 1.4.2 allows as a suffix to the name only recognised medical degrees and qualifying diplomas, memberships or honours. Put your Assam registration number and degrees on the letterhead itself; the free clinic letterhead maker lays one out. In Vitels the prescription prints on your clinic letterhead with the registration number, on A4 or A5, from the e-prescription software.

Questions

Is there an Assam Medical Council website?

The NMC's directory lists none (read 31 Oct 2026). Registration services are on the Sewa Setu portal under the Assam Council of Medical Registration.

What is the fee for permanent registration in Assam?

Sewa Setu lists a user charge of Rs. 5000 plus 18% GST, with a Rs. 30 service charge and printing or scanning charges if you apply at a PFC or CSC (read 31 Oct 2026).

How long does Assam permanent registration take?

The Sewa Setu page gives a stipulated time limit of seven working days.

Do foreign medical graduates use the same portal?

Yes for additional degrees, where Sewa Setu gives 45 working days for foreign medical graduates. Ask the Registrar which other services apply to your case.

How do I get an NOC to move to another state's council?

Apply for Issuance of No Objection Certificate on Sewa Setu. It needs your degree certificate and Assam permanent registration certificate, and carries a Rs. 5000 user charge plus 18% GST.

Sources

  1. National Medical Commission, State Medical Councils directory (Assam Medical Council entry) (accessed Invalid Date)
  2. Sewa Setu, Government of Assam: Permanent registration of MBBS Doctors (accessed Invalid Date)
  3. Sewa Setu, Government of Assam: Provisional Registration Certificate of MBBS Doctor (accessed Invalid Date)
  4. Sewa Setu, Government of Assam: Registration of Additional Degrees - ACMR (accessed Invalid Date)
  5. Sewa Setu, Government of Assam: Issuance of No Objection Certificate - ACMR (accessed Invalid Date)
  6. Sewa Setu, Government of Assam: Re-registration of existing Registered Medical Practitioners (accessed Invalid Date)
  7. Sewa Setu, Government of Assam: Issue of Credit Points for attending CME (accessed Invalid Date)
  8. National Medical Commission, Indian Medical Register search (accessed Invalid Date)
  9. PIB, Union Health Minister launches the National Medical Register portal, 23 Aug 2024 (accessed Invalid Date)
  10. Indian Medical Council (Professional Conduct, Etiquette and Ethics) Regulations, 2002, amended up to 8 Oct 2016, clauses 1.4.1 and 1.4.2 (NMC) (accessed Invalid Date)

This is operational guidance for clinics, not legal or tax advice. Confirm with your state authority, council or CA.

Drafted with AI assistance; every fact checked against the sources listed; reviewed by the Vitels editorial team.

  1. 1 You
  2. 2 Your clinic

Who should we call?

Your name and the number we can reach you on.

One more step, all of it optional.